Faculty

Name Faculty Room Ext Email
Adler, Scott A.

Research Area/Interests:

  • Infant cognition
  • Vision
  • Developmental psychology
Psychology, HH BSB 333 33389 adler@yorku.ca

Website

Alboiu, Gabriela

Research Area/Interests:

  • Control phenomenon
  • Argument structure
  • Structural encodings of discourse properties
Languages, Literatures and Linguistics, AP S 555 Ross 20302 galboiu@yorku.ca

Website

Allison, Robert

Research Area/Interests:

  • Human-computer interaction
  • Virtual reality
  • Machine vision
  • Perception of human motion
Computer Science, SC
Center for Vision Research
Lassonde 3051 20192 allison@cse.yorku.ca

Website

Andrews, Kristin

Research Area/Interests:

  • Comparative cognitive science
  • Animal cognition
  • Moral psychology
  • Social cognition
  • Folk psychology
Philosophy, AP Ross S 420 77590 andrewsk@yorku.ca

Website

Baljko, Melanie

Research Area/Interests:

  • Multimodal communication
  • Augmentative and alternative communication,
  • Adaptive interfaces,
  • Computational stylistics,
  • Computer-supported collaborative writing
  • Women in computer science
Computer Science, SC Lassonde 2028 33348 mb@cse.yorku.ca

Website

Beck, Jacob

Research Area/Interests:

  • Philosophy of cognitive science
  • Mental representation
  • Nonconceptual content
  • Animal cognition
  • Conceptual learning
Philosophy, AP Ross S 439 jbeck@yorku.ca

Website

Bialystok, Ellen

Research Area/Interests:

  • Developmental-cognitive
  • General experimental
  • Second-language acquisition
  • Development of symbolic skills such as language, number and spatial cognition in preschool and school-age children.
Psychology, HH BSB 234 66109 ellenb@yorku.ca

Website

Desrocher, Mary

Research Area/Interests:

  • Pediatric neuropsychology
  • Normative studies of memory functioning through the lifespan
  • The functioning of the hippocampus and frontal lobes in normal and altered development
Psychology, HH BSB 124 33111 mdesroch@yorku.ca
Elder, James

Research Area/Interests:

  • Visual perception
  • Psychological and computational methods
  • Neural modeling
Psychology, HH Lassonde 0003G 66475 jelder@yorku.ca

Website

Fallah, Mazyar

Research Area/Interests:

  • Systems neuroscience
  • Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Neurophysiology
  • Attention, perception
Psychology, HH Lassonde 1012H 20555 mfallah@yorku.ca

Website

Goel, Vinod

Research Area/Interests:

  • Cognitive and neural basis of rational decision-making
  • Emotional processing
Psychology, HH BSB 332 66150 vgoel@yorku.ca

Website

Gottschling, Verena

Research Area/Interests:

  • Philosophy of psychology
  • Philosophical foundations of cognitive science
Philosophy, AP S 444 Ross 44722 vgott@yorku.ca

Website

Green, Chris

Research Area/Interests:

  • History of psychology
  • Theoretical cognitive science
Psychology, HH BSB 286 66164 christo@yorku.ca

Website

Gryz, Jarek

Research Area/Interests:

  • Maximal vector computation
  • Query sampling
  • Query optimization via data mining
  • Semantic query caching
Computer Science, SC Lassonde 3026 55053 jarek@cse.yorku.ca

Website

Harris, Laurence

Research Area/Interests:

  • Vision
  • Vestibular system
  • Eye and head movements
  • Control systems
  • Neurophysiology
  • Perception of motion
  • Psychophysics
  • Multi-sensory interaction
Psychology, HH BSB 296 55116 harris@yorku.ca

Website

Hattiangadi, Jagdish

Research Area/Interests:

  • Philosophy of science
  • Philosophy of language
  • History of ideas
  • Metaphysics
  • Epistemology
Philosophy, AP S 437 Ross 77524 jagdish@yorku.ca
Hoffman, Kari

Research Area/Interests:

  • Neural basis of learning and memory
  • Neural oscillations, synchrony and plasticity
  • Face and object processing
  • Active vision and embodied perception
Psychology, HH Lassonde 0003F 22932 khoffman@yorku.ca

Website

Huang, Jimmy

Research Area/Interests:

  • Information retrieval, data mining
  • Natural language processing
  • Computational linguistics
ITEC, AP 3048 TEL 30149 jhuang@yorku.ca

Website

Huss, Brian

Research Area/Interests:

  • Psychology of logical reasoning
  • Doxastic voluntarism
  • Moral psychology
Philosophy, AP S Ross 414 33634 huss@yorku.ca

 

Jackman, Henry

Research Area/Interests:

  • Philosophy of language
  • Philosophy of mind
  • Epistemology
  • American pragmatism
Philosophy, AP S 434 Ross 77595 hjackman@yorku.ca

Website:

Jenkin, Michael

Research Area/Interests:

  • Computer vision
  • Virtual reality
  • Mobile robotics
Computer Science, SC Lassonde 3032 33162 jenkin@cse.yorku.ca
Johnson, Janice M.

Research Area/Interests:

  • Developmental-cognitive
  • General experimental
  • Cognition
  • Psycholinguistics
  • Cognitive process analysis
Psychology, HH 246 BSB 66214 janicej@yorku.ca

Website

Jopling, David

Research Area/Interests:

  • Philosophy of psychology
  • Continental philosophy
Philosophy, AP S 435 77588 jopling@yorku.ca
Khalidi, Muhammad Ali

Research Area/Interest

  • Philosophy of cognitive science
  • Philosophy of mind and language
Philosophy, AP S438 77586 khalidi@yorku.ca

Website

Legerstee, Maria

Research Area/Interests:

  • Social cognitive development in infants
Psychology, HH 212 BSB 20278 legerste@yorku.ca
Lesperance, Yves

Research Area/Interests:

  • Knowledge representation
  • Autonomous agents and multi-agent systems
  • Cognitive robotics
Computer Science, SC Lassonde 3052A 70146 lesperan@cse.yorku.ca

Website

MacDonald, Suzanne

Research Area/Interests:

  • Comparative cognition
  • Spatial cognition
  • Language and communication
Psychology, HH 297 BSB 66226 suzmac@yorku.ca

Website

Mar, Raymond

Research Area/Interests:

  • Cognitive effects of narrative fiction
  • Social cognition
  • Autobiographical memory
Psychology, HH 293 BSB 66226 mar@yorku.ca

Website

Murray, Richard

Research Area/Interests:

  • Perceptual psychology
  • Visual psychophysics
  • Perceptual organization
  • Three-dimensional shape perception
Psychology, HH / Centre for Vision Research Lassonde 0009 23025 rfm@yorku.ca

Website

Murtha, Susan

Research Area/Interests:

  • Cognitive impairment
  • Aging
  • Memory
Psychology, HH 217 BSB 66132 smurtha@yorku.ca

Website

Narayan, Chandan

Research Area/Interests:

  • Acoustic-phonetics
  • Speech Perception
  • Language acquisition
  • Psycholinguistics
DLLL, AP 546A Ross 33791 chandann@yorku.ca

Website

Park, Norman

Research Area/Interests:

  • Cognitive and neuropsychological processes associated with perceiving and remembering
  • Attention and memory
Psychology, HH 213 BSB 22159 npark@yorku.ca
Pascual-Leone, Juan

Research Area/Interests:

  • Developmental and cognitive processes
Psychology, HH 402C BSB 66148 juanpl@yorku.ca
Pelham, Judy

Research Area/Interests:

  • Logic
  • Logical truth
  • The logic of conditionals
Philosophy, AP S 440 Ross 77591 pelham@yorku.ca

Personal Website

Rich, Jill

Research Area/Interests:

  • Clinical, semantic memory, implicit memory and prospective memory
  • Memory processing in normal aging and dementia
  • Cognitive processes
  • Neural basis of behaviour
Psychology, HH 248A BSB 30561 jbr@yorku.ca

Website

Rosenbaum, Shayna

Research Area/Interests:

  • Clinical neuropsychology and cognitive neuroscience
  • Cognitive and neural basis of remote memory (spatial, episodic, semantic) and mental state attributions
  • Lesion and fMRI methods
Psychology, HH 041 AC 20449 shaynar@yorku.ca

Website

Russon, Anne

Research Area/Interests:

  • Comparative studies of nonhuman primates
  • Infant social and cognitive development
  • Imitation
  • Tool use
  • Social vs. ecological intelligence
  • The evolution of primate intelligence
Psychology, GL York Hall, 165 Glendon 88363 arusson@glendon.yorku.ca

Website

Sasaki, Joni

Research Area/Interests:

  • Individual, situational, and cultural moderators of religion's effects
  • Cultural influences on cognition, emotion, and well-being
  • Gene-environment interactions
  • Cognitive science of religion
Psychology, HH BSB 330 33438 jsasaki@yorku.ca

Website


Schneider, Keith

Research Area/Interests:

  • Perception
  • Attention
  • Architecture of human visual system
  • fMRI studies of human visual attention in thalamic and midbrain structures
Biology, SC Sherman Health Science Research Centre 1008 keiths@yorku.ca
Website
Sergio, Lauren

Research Area/Interests:

  • Behavioural and electromyographic studies of multi-joint movement coordination
  • Neural mechanisms underlying visually guided reaching in parietal and precentral cortex
  • Control of voluntary movement in neurological patient populations
Psychology and Kinesiology and Health Science, HH Norman Bethune 357 33641 lsergio@yorku.ca

Website

Shanker, Stuart

Research Area/Interests:

  • Understanding how parent-child relationships shape children's development
  • Role of emotion in evolution and development of language, intelligence, social skills and empathy
  • Interaction between the development of the mind and the development of the brain
Psychology, HH TEL 5030 E 20386 shanker@yorku.ca

Website

Steele, Jennifer

Research Area/Interests:

  • Implicit social cognition
  • Stereotype development
  • Social perception
Psychology, HH BSB 331 22156 steeleje@yorku.ca
Stuerzlinger, Wolfgang

Research Area/Interests:

  • Human-computer interaction
  • 3D user interfaces
  • Virtual reality
Computer Science, SC Lassonde 3048 33947 wolfgang@cse.yorku.ca

Website

Verheggen, Claudine

Research Area/Interests:

  • Philosophy of Language
  • Philosophy of Mind
  • Wittgenstein
  • Davidson
Philosophy, AP Ross S 436 77553 cverheg@yorku.ca

Website

Waring, Duff

Research Area/Interests:

  • Philosophy of psychiatry
  • Conceptions of mental disorder
  • Personality traits and ethical virtues in psychotherapy
Philosophy, AP Ross S 428 33522 dwaring@yorku.ca
Wilcox, Laurie

Research Area/Interests:

  • Stereoscopic Vision
  • 3D Film Technology
  • Second-order stereopsis
Psychology, HH Lassonde 0003H 66494 lwilcox@yorku.ca

 

Wilkinson, Frances

Research Area/Interests:

  • Migraine and the Visual System
  • Vision and Aging
  • Intermediate Level Form Perception
  • Face Perceptions
Psychology, HH Lassonde 1012D 33184 franw@yorku.ca

Website

Wilson, Hugh

Research Area/Interests:

  • Psychophysics
  • Visual Network Models
  • Cortical Neuron Models
  • Nonlinear Dynamics in Neuroscience
Biology, SC Lassonde B002F 33140 hrwilson@yorku.ca

Website

Wiseheart, Melody

Research Area/Interests:

  • Developmental cognitive neural science
  • Cognitive flexibility and executive function,
  • Educational applications of cognitive psychology
Psychology, HH BSB 242 33266 ncepeda@yorku.ca

Website

Womelsdorf, Thilo

Research Area/Interests:

  • Attentional control
  • Decision making in prefrontal-striatal systems
  • Reinforcement learning
  • Functional brain networks and synchronization
Biology Lumb 320 22468 thiwom@yorku.ca